Vegan Black Bean Burgers with Cilantro Guacamole

Happy Friday!
Week one of the spring school semester is officially over, at least for those in attendance at A&M. I personally lucked out this semester with zero classes on Fridays. In celebration, I hopped over to the store in preparation for my unique TGIF meal, Vegan Black Bean Burgers with Cilantro Guacamole.

While I’m not a vegan, I’m definitely a veggie burger (or any burger/sandwich) fan. Growing up, one of my best friends was vegetarian and introduced me to the world of non-meat eating. I thought it would be a very very sad world but, as it turns out, it wasn’t so bad after all.

While I’m slightly skittish of canned goods, buying beans in a can isn’t scary at all. It’s also a lot easier than buying dry as one must soak their beans overnight before using. And I’m kind of an instant gratification type person.

Before mashing beans, I lightly sauteed some onion and herbs for the patties, similar to what we did with the herbed turkey burgers.Beans don’t have an extreme amount of flavor by themselves and this really adds a nice flavor and texture.

When mashing the beans, I suggest a fork/potato masher rather than a food processor. My roommate and I both agreed that the processor would yield something hummus like rather than burger like.

Plus, I think these look nice and rustic once patty-fied, don’t you?

To finish, I topped my burger with tomato, goat cheese (not vegan [I’m a cheater]) spinach, and a spread made from smashed avocado, lemon juice, and cilantro. I’ve found this also makes a great, non-spicy guacamole dip for those of us who can’t manage a pepper.

Additionally, I threw some oven baked sweet potato frieson the side. As I kept going back for more, I’m pretty sure I almost ate an entire sweet potato. Thus, I hope you enjoy this veggie filled meal and make it for all your friends!

Vegan Black Bean Burgers
Servings: 3          Prep Time: 20 minutes          Cook Time: 5-10 minutes

1 15 oz can of black beans
1/4 onion, chopped
1/4 teaspoon rosemary, minced
1/4 teaspoon any herb(s) of your choice (I used sage and oregano)
pinch of garlic salt
2 tablespoons oats

Directions
1. Saute onion and herbs in a small pan for about 5 minutes or until onions begin to soften. Set aside
2. Drain and rinse black beans. Place in a medium bowl and smash beans with a fork or potato masher for roughly 5 minutes. The mixture should have the consistency of, say, chunky hot sauce rather than hummus.
3. Add onion mixture and oats to the beans. Mix with hands until combined and form in to 3 patties.
4. Heat a skillet to medium heat and cook patties about 3-5 minutes per side until browned.
5. When finished, top with sliced tomato, spinach, or anything else of your choice.

Cilantro Guacamole
Servings: 3          Prep Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients
1/2 large avocado, peeled and pitted
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon dried cilantro
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions
Lightly smash avocado with a fork. Add lemon juice, cilantro, and mix until combined. Salt and pepper to taste. 

One thought on “Vegan Black Bean Burgers with Cilantro Guacamole

Leave a Reply

