Cinnamon Sugar Lattes

I went to bad last night saying to myself, “Self? You have no classes tomorrow. Sleep in forever.” And then we had a tornado so I didn’t.

I really disklike tornados. Growing up, I literally thought it was the end whenever those sirens started up and my mom turned on the horrific, static-consumed emergency broadcast system that sounded like aliens coming to destroy our home planet. If Dante were alive today, he’d probably make that god-awful noise circle #4 in his layers of hell. So naturally, the experience early this morning was a little traumatizing.

After all the chaos and mayhem, there was no tornado and everyone went on their merry way. Lovely. Still shell shocked, and probably suffering from PTSD, I meandered into the kitchen. Too afraid to drive to Starbucks, I decided to try my hand at something new: Cinnamon Sugar Lattes. And things were much much better.

I don’t know what it is about coffee that’s just so…awesome. My world changed after I had the best latte of my life with my friend, Emily, and I have wanted to recreate it again and again ever since. While I don’t have a cool espresso machine nor heated milk frothing wand, everything still turned out prettty delicious.

To start, brew about 1/2 cup of medium strength coffee. Meanwhile, combine milk (I used a combination of lactose free skim and fat free but any kind will work), cinnamon, vanilla, and sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat.

Whisk constantly for about five minutes until milk becomes bubbly and frothy.

When finished, pour milk mixture into a mug and add the coffee. Serve with an overstuffed chair, gingersnaps, and a good read.

Cinnamon Sugar Lattes
Servings: 1          Prep Time: 5 minutes          Cook Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients
1/2 cup brewed coffee, medium strength
3/4 cup milk (I used a combination of 1/2 cup skim and 1/4 cup fat-free)
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon sugar

Directions
Brew about 1/2 cup of medium strength coffee. Meanwhile, combine milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat. Whisk constantly for about five minutes until milk becomes bubbly and frothy. When finished, pour milk mixture into a mug and add the coffee. Serve with an overstuffed chair, gingersnaps, and a good read. 

One thought on “Cinnamon Sugar Lattes

Leave a Reply

