Café Mocha Mini Muffins

I don’t have a coffee addiction yet. However, I can see my future changing quite rapidly.

Coffee flavored things greatly intrigue me. From cakes, cookies, and even savory dishes such as chicken or pork,  I find that coffee always adds an little extra”zing” that isn’t just from caffeine. As I tend to stick to tastes and flavors I know, I tried my hand at some Café Mocha Mini Muffins, forever sealing my love of coffee and chocolate in baked good form.

Plus, because they’re mini and just oh-so-cute, they have special rules that state you can eat as many as you want. True story.

One day, I definitely hope to be on the Left Bank of the Seine, sipping my petite tasse de café and perusing some Jacques Prévert, intermittently nibbling on a small square of dark chocolate. I mean, can life really get any better with coffee, chocolate, and Paris? Probably not.

But until then, these bad boys are good for grabbing as one runs out the door, bringing a small bit of fantasy into every day reality.

Café Mocha Mini Muffins
Yield: about 20 mini muffins       Prep Time: 10 minutes      Cook Time: 5-7 minutes

Ingredients:
1/3 cup strong coffee
3 tablespoons butter, softened
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg yolk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons milk (fat-free, soy, almond, goat: any kind you wish)
1/4 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips

Directions
1. Brew coffee and allow it to cool.
2. Combine the flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt and a small bowl and set aside.
3 Meanwhile, cream butter and sugar together in a medium sized bowl. Beat in egg yolk and vanilla.
4. Alternate adding the flour mixture and milk to the butter mixture and stir until combined. Fold in chocolate chips
5. Fill a greased miniature muffin cups three-fourths full. Bake at 350°F for 5-7 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.

One thought on “Café Mocha Mini Muffins

Leave a Reply

