Sarah’s All Star Cereals

Happy National Cereal Day!!!!

Did you know that cereal is the most popular breakfast item in the United States? About 294 million Americans start their day with a bowl of cereal and, proudly, I am one of them. As previously stated, I absolutely love cereal. Hot, cold, with milk, or right out of the box, cereal is definitely a top breakfast favorite of mine. In celebration, I’ve put together a small list of those cereals which are my personal favorites. I hope you enjoy them!!!!



Honey Sunshine (click for complete nutrition facts!)

Kashi
With plenty of whole grains, 5g of fiber, and only about 100 calories per cup, it’s my all time cold cereal favorite. Oh and topped with bananas? Heavennn.  It also reminds me of that Honey Comb Cereal, with the creepy wide-eyed bear thing on the box, but 10 times better. 

My favorite part of this cereal is probably the dried strawberries. I’m a fruit fiend. Being fat-free with only 120 calories, its very similar to Special K’s Red Berries, which is incredibly delicious as well. 
Bear River Valley

With 14g of whole grain and 120 calories per cup, this is my go to item when I want to be 10 years old again. Delicious and probably slightly more nutritious than Lucky Charms, it’s also low in the fat category. And still, it’s great for indulging. 
Bear River Valley

This takes the art Cinnamon Toast Crunch to an entirely new level. Packed with whole grain wheat and only 130 calories per cup, these bad boys are also cholesterol free and have a nice amount of calcium to help keep those bones nice and strong. 
Mom’s Best Naturals

Now this cereal is really nothing like I’ve ever had before. It’s actually a really nice combination of what I would call… frosted flakes and granola. With a nice nutty taste and corn base, it’s low in sugar, fat, and packs a ton of iron into its 3/4 cup serving size (120 calories).

Multi Grain Peanut Butter Cheerios
General Mills

I’m not going to lie, these cheerios are delicious. It helps that they come out pretty good in the health department, too! The iron and folic acid top out around 50% of your daily intake, both of which can help prevent anemia and restore red blood cells. And at 110 calories per 3/4 cup serving, you really can’t go wrong a cup of this and a banana sliced on top. (I’m all about bananas in my cereal. I think it’s a Smith thing.)

Vanilla Almond Crunch
Bear Naked

Honestly, I love everything Bear Naked puts out- the Fruit and Nut version, the Heavenly Chocolate version, or any other really. This Vanilla Almond variety, in particular, is low in sugar and has about 120 calories per 1/4 cup. I love to munch on this with yogurt, mixed in with some flaked cereal, or straight out of the bag!

Cream of Wheat
B&G Foods

My Mom used to make me Cream of Wheat each and every morning before school. Even after all these years I still can’t make it as good as she does! I love this hot cereal because of its simplicity- it really helps those anxiety filled mornings to simmer down to an appropriate level. And if things are particularly grim, a bit of brown sugar and milk mixed in always does the trick. Out of everything, I think this breakfast item will always be my favorite way of waking up 🙂

Leave me a comment, send me an email, or facebook me with any of YOUR favorite cereals, questions, or comments! I’d love to hear them! 
Leave a Reply

