You Sneaky Snickerdoodle!

Today, I wanted some cookies. Actually, I’d really love to have cookies errryday but today the calling was particularly intensified by my late 24 stomach flu which had passed but caused my yesterday-diet to consist of 6 saltines, some rice n’ peas, and half a banana. Heck yes I deserve some cookies today.

As I sauntered over to the frigo, I realized I had no eggs and no butter but that’s okay because I had a sneaky suspicion I wanted something vegan anyways (sometime I have those moods. In one of my classes we were talking about how fan freaking tastic black bean burgers are. Honestly, I wouldn’t mind a tat living off those.) I found a pretty swell recipe for some veganized snickerdoodles and figured it was my calling and duty to bake them. And so I did.

Cinnamon sugar is pretty much the most wonderful thing ever. Have you ever had it on toast? Man, I knew it was going to be a great day when ma handed me my breakfast plate with two perfectly triangular pieces of buttery cinnamony sugary goodness on top. Snickerdoodles are kind of like that. And I mean, I guess I could have these for breakfast…..(I totally had three for breakfast)

Plus, you can totally eat these in cookie dough form! No eggs holla!!!! I’m even thinking snickerdoodle cookie dough milkshake but that’s just my personal opinion.

Any way you roll em’, these snickerdoodles are definitely a treat for the tasting!

Sneaky Vegan Snickerdoodles

Yield: 10-12

Ingredients

3/4 cup white whole wheat flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon cream of tarter

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 tablespoons milk of your choice

1/4 cup canola oil

Directions

In a medium bowl, place flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and cream of tarter. Mix with a whisk and set aside. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the milk, oil, and vanilla. Add to the dry ingredients and whisk until combined.

Make a mixture of 2 parts sugar, 1 part cinnamon  and sprinkle on a plate. Roll the dough into small balls and then roll in the cinnamon sugar. Allow dough to chill in the refrigerator for a few hours or overnight. When ready to bake, flatten them out just a bit and set the oven to 350 F. Bake for about 10 minutes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

