Lightened Up Mocha Frappuccino

I always get these little crazy coffee cravings around 3 p.m. each day, which is totally fine…except when it’s about five thousand degrees outside and drinking hot afternoon coffee would probably melt my skin off like hot lava. I’ll admit it- my name is Sarah Smith and I’m addicted to coffee and I need my afternoon pick-me-up or I’ll turn into a cranky raging mid-afternoon monster (for my future Swiss roommates reading this, I’m fully exaggerating. Truly, I’m a nice person). While Starbies is utterly delicious, the price for that mermaid on your cup gets expensive! I recommend this Mocha Frappuccino instead to save some bucks AND some calories. 

Image

Best part? Super easy! All it takes is a little instant coffee, vanilla soymilk, cocoa powder, stevia, ice and blend, blend blend! If there’s no stevia to be found, plain ol’ sugar will be just dandy- there’s only 1/2 teaspoon in the recipe. For an extra healthy version, you can even completely omit the stuff!

Image

I topped mine with a dollop of cool whip and a sprinkling of cocoa powder today but again, the choice is yours! If you’re looking for a bit more of a thick, milkshake texture, feel free to blend this up with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt or a frozen banana. Either way, you’ll be glad you made this for you and your friends this summer!

Image

Lightened Up Mocha Frappuccino  

Servings: 1

Ingredients

1 teaspoon instant coffee powder (usually one small packet)

½ cup light vanilla soy milk

½ teaspoon unsweetened coco powder

½ teaspoon stevia

4-5 ice cubes

cool whip, if desired 

Directions

  1. Combine instant coffee and soy milk in a small blender and mix for a few seconds. Add coco powder, stevia, and ice cubes and blend until smooth. Garnish with cool whip if desired!
Leave a Reply

